a tribute to the best song tributes

I’ve been curating a list of my favorite cover songs for quite a while now, but I just learned that a former student hosts a radio show called Take Cover at KLSU 91.1 FM in Baton Rouge, so I thought it was about time I get to posting it.

I’m not sure if it’s a coincidence that most of the covers are female artists covering male artists, or that many of them were originally Beatles (or members of the Beatles) songs. But for whatever reason, I find many of these covers to be at least as awesome — if not even an order of magnitude more awesome — than the originals.

The Dum Dum Girls covering The Smiths’ There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out:
Maybe the best cover of the best song by the best band ever. Ever.

Roxy Music covering John Lennon’s Jealous Guy:
I know there’s only one John Lennon, but there is just something about Bryan Ferry’s silky smooth voice.

The White Stripes covering Tegan and Sara’s Walking With a Ghost:
This song is pretty cool whether it’s sung by doll-voiced twin sisters or the master of the weird warbly voice, Jack White.

The Bad Plus covering the Flaming Lips’ Feeling Yourself Disintegrate:
I love the jazzy sadness The Bad Plus brings to this beautiful song.

Neko Case and Nick Cave covering The Zombies’ She’s Not There:
Although I have never seen an episode of True Blood (curse you, HBO, and you’re high subscription rates!), I do love this sort-of scary cover, which reminds me a bit of that creepy Little Red Riding Hood song by Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs for some reason.

Siouxsie and the Banshees covering the Beatles’ Dear Prudence:
I believe the incomparably cool Siouxsie Sioux did this beautiful song, which was written about Mia Farrow’s sister Prudence, justice … and then some.

The Sundays covering The Rolling Stones’ Wild Horses:
This is just such an emotional song, made all the more poignant by Harriet Wheeler’s sad vocals:

Kindness covering The Replacements’ Swinging Party:
Credit must go to my dear friend Katy Page (and perhaps her husband Ryan?) for introducing me to this fantastically groovy cover.

Fiona Apple, Rufus Wainwright, David Bowie, Roger Waters (and everyone else) cover the Beatles’ Across the Universe:
Who doesn’t love this song? And furthermore, who doesn’t love every version of it (for a complete list, visit the song’s Wikipedia page)?



What are your favorite covers?

One thought on “a tribute to the best song tributes

Leave a Reply

